help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeEventsConversation Series - Proportional Representation

Events - Event View

This is the "Event Detail" view, showing all available information for this event. If registration is required or recommended, click the 'Register Now' button to start the process. If the event has passed, click the "Event Report" button to read a report and view photos that were uploaded.

Conversation Series - Proportional Representation

Proportional Representation

“Majority Rule…with Representation for the Minority”

 

93% of delegates to the 2020 LWVUS Convention voted to adopt a position on Voter Representation

and the Electoral Process. It was historic!  So how will the LWV be able

to use it to enhance representation and really “Make Democracy Work” for voters?

For the big picture and a local angle…

 

 

 

Join us! The NEXT in our series of “Conversations”

for LWV Electoral Reform Advocates with

Ruth Greenwood and Preston Jordan
Followed by Q & A

 

Ruth Greenwood, a Massachusetts League member, has been working in voting rights for over ten years. Ruth litigates a variety of redistricting cases, with a particular focus on ending partisan gerrymandering and promoting minority representation. Memorable speaker at 2018 LWVUS Convention!  Learn how H.R. 4000, the Fair Representation Act can work to end partisan gerrymandering & reduce wasted votes… plus the Yakima County WA. story.

Preston Jordan, a LWV member, Energy Geosciences engineer at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and just elected to Albany CA City Council, led the local effort to bring proportional representation to Albany for both council and school board elections.   It was a long road that hit a tipping point.

 

 

Wednesday. Dec 29th   60 minutes
7 pm EST - 6 pm Central - 5pm Mountain - 4 pm PDT - 3pm Alaska - 2pm Hawaii

 

Seating is limited. Please register here:

Send any questions to paula.lee@comcast.net

 

This invitation comes to you because you registered for a LWVUS caucus or have requested to be added to our list.  If you wish to be removed from the list please contact Barbara Klein (drbarbaraklein@120years.com) or Paula Lee (paula.lee@comcast.net). Place the words “REMOVE FROM LWV Election Reformers list” in subject line. 

When:
Tuesday, December 29, 2020, 6:00 PM
Additional Info:
Contact(s):
LWV- Dallas
(214) 688-4125 (p)
Category:
Events of Interest
Registration is required
Payment In Full In Advance Only