Making Democracy Work

Susan B. Anthony Luncheon

"Oh, if I could but live another century and see the fruition of all the work for women! There is so much yet to be done." Susan B. Anthony

Thank You, Our Generous Supporters

The League of Women Voters of Dallas thanks the following donors for their generous contributions to the 21st Susan B. Anthony Luncheon, honoring Debbie Dudley Branson:


  • Cecilia Guthrie Boone
  • Law Offices of Frank L. Branson


  • Hon. Harryette Ehrhardt, Susybelle Gosslee, Dr. Scherry *Johnson, Becky Sykes,
  • Pat Vaughan and Linda Wassenich
  • Kane Russell Coleman Logan
  • Lisa and Peter Kraus
  • Drs. Eileen and Harvey Rosenblum


  • Anonymous Strong Women
  • Carter Financial Management
  • Carter Scholer Arnett Mockler
  • Law Offices of Eric Cedillo
  • Carol Donovan, Dallas County Democratic Party Chair
  • Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson
  • Julie Lowenberg, Pat Sabin and Molly Van Ort
  • Cecilia McKay
  • Medical Center Woman's Club
  • Parkland Foundation


  • Judge Jennifer Bennett - 265th District Court
  • Jim Burnham
  • Marlene Cohen
  • Diana Dutton
  • Laura V. Estrada
  • Roslyn Thibodeaux Goodall
  • Gail Griswold
  • Gary Hasty
  • Dr. Mona Hersh-Cochran
  • Regina Montoya
  • Eliza Solender
  • Roslyn Dawson Thompson
  • Sandy Thornton
  • Catherine Turner
  • Courtney Underwood
  • Elaine Wiant

Debbie Dudley Branson, 2017 Susan B. Anthony Awardee

Debbie Dudley Branson

21st Annual Susan B. Anthony Awardee

Debbie Dudley Branson

A respected and accomplished attorney in Dallas, Debbie Dudley Branson has demonstrated a strong commitment to her profession. She maintains a passionate belief that individual lawyers have an obligation to be community leaders, public servants, and forces for positive change. She represents the fourth consecutive generation of lawyers in her family.

Branson is the immediate past Chair of the Parkland Health & Hospital System Board of Managers in Dallas. She led Parkland through a very difficult time that included correcting 498 deficiencies from Parkland not meeting the Medicare Conditions of Participation and searching for a new President/CEO at Parkland. Her work resulted in Branson receiving the 87th Annual Linz Award in recognition of her dedicated leadership in the revitalization of Parkland Hospital. The Linz Award is recognized as Dallas' most prestigious award and honors citizens whose humanitarian efforts create the greatest benefit to the City of Dallas.

Branson is a lawyer in the law offices of Frank L. Branson, P.C., which specializes in personal injury litigation. She has served as President of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association. Professionally, she has garnered many honors over the years, including "Best Women Lawyers in Dallas," "Best Lawyers in Dallas" by D Magazine, Best Lawyers in America, and one of the "Texas Super Lawyers" by Texas Monthly. In 2011, she was named one of the the Dallas Bar Association's "Inspiring Women." Branson also received the Gayle Pettus Pontz Award from the University of Arkansas School of Law, which recognizes the achievements of a lawyer who best represents excellence and the achievement of women in the legal profession. She also received the University of Texas at Dallas' Achievement Award.

In addition to recognition she has received as a lawyer, Branson received the 2015 Texas Healthcare Trustees Star Award for her leadership of the Parkland Board. In 2014, she received "Each Moment Matters" award from the Presbyterian Communities and Services Foundation, Modern Healthcare Magazine's Trustee of the Year, and the Maura Women Helping Women Award. In 2012, she received the Women That Soar Award in Business, an award that recognizes women who have triumphed professionally and are giving back to the community.

In 1999, Branson served as president of the Dallas Women's Foundation, the largest regional women's fund in the world. She has been an active board member of many other civic and legal organizations. In addition, she was a presidential appointee to the Federal Aviation Management Advisory Council and to the Securities Investor Protection Corporation, where she served as the co-chair and acting chair. Most recently, she served on Hillary Clinton's Health Care Policy Working Group.

Branson graduated as a Student of Special Distinction from Arkansas State University with a B.S.E. She received her law degree from the University of Arkansas and was given the Distinguished Law Student Award. She also earned a M.S. from UTD.

She is married to Frank Branson. They have two children, both of whom are graduates of SMU Law School, and two grandchildren. We are very proud that she has also been a member of LWV Dallas for the past 25 years.

Luncheon Sponsorships, Ads, Tickets, Contributions

Would you like to honor the Susan B. Anthony awardee and also support the Dallas League? You can purchase a sponsorshiip, program ad, individual luncheon tickets or make a contribution online here.

What Is the Susan B. Anthony Award?

Susan B. AnthonyThis award is presented annually to a woman who exemplifies the characteristics of Susan B. Anthony - her independence, persistence, determination, and dedication in obtaining equal rights for all. Recipients are nominated by Dallas League members in September. The Awardee is honored at the Susan B. Anthony Luncheon and Silent Auction in February.

Past Awardees

  • 1997 - Elizabeth Cowles
  • 1998 - Cathy Wilkins-Moffitt
  • 1999 - Joanne Hill
  • 2000 - Elizabeth Johannaber
  • 2001 - Catalina Garcia-Gary, M.D.
  • 2002 - Rebecca Russell Sykes
  • 2003 - Suzanne Ahn, M.D.
  • 2004 - Vivian Castleberry and Louise Raggio
  • 2005 - Patricia Patterson
  • 2006 - Essie Reed
  • 2007 - Laura Estrada
  • 2008 - Virginia Bulkley Whitehill
  • 2009 - Cecilia Guthrie Boone
  • 2010 - Julie Lowenberg
  • 2011 - Ellen K. Solender
  • 2012 - Jan Sanders
  • 2013 - Beverly Mitchell Brooks, Ph.D.
  • 2014 - Hon. Harryette Ehrhardt, Ph.D.
  • 2015 - Hon. Ann Margolin
  • 2016 - Regina Montoya